MLK Community Celebration 2014 held at Frazer School

The Syracuse University Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee will hold its annual Celebration of Arts, Culture and Education in the Syracuse Community on Saturday, Jan. 26, from noon-4 p.m. at Frazer K-8 School, 741 Park Ave. in Syracuse.

The event is free and open to the public, and members of the Syracuse and neighboring communities are invited and encouraged to attend.

The theme for this year’s celebration is “Yesterday’s Dream, Tomorrow’s Promise,” aligned with the 28th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration that was held in SU’s Carrier Dome on Jan. 19.

The community celebration will include workshops featuring various forms of artistic, physical and verbal expression, and information tables showcasing cultural and educational opportunities and resources in the community.

The event will begin at noon with workshops and information tables. At 1:30 p.m., the performance piece will begin with a welcome by Marissa L. Willingham, program associate in SU’s Office of Multicultural Affairs and chair of the community celebration.

El-Java Williams Abdul-Qadir, director of Syracuse University’s South Side Innovation Center, will be the keynote speaker.

The program will include performances by SU’s Black Celestial Choral Ensemble (BCCE); Dance Theater of Syracuse; Verbal Blend Poetry Program and the Underground Poetry Spot; Nottingham High School and SU’s Break Dance teams; La Casita’s Bomba y Plena Dance Troupe; Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., and YAT Pack.

Twenty-one deserving young people will be honored as the 2013 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Unsung Heroes for making a positive difference in the lives of others and exemplifying King’s teachings.

The students who will be honored and their schools include Asmae Aitnajim, Nottingham High School; Jaycia Brunson, Frazer K-8 School; Anthony Davis, LeMoyne Elementary School; Gemini Doebler, Meacham Elementary School; Petragaye Eccleston, Westside Academy at Blodgett; Nicole Graine, Hughes Pre-K-8 School; Shamer Nek’o Hawkins, Delaware Academy School; Amina Kilpatrick, Manlius-Pebble Hill School; Peaches Marks, McKinley-Brighton Elementary School; Nadir McCray, Nottingham High School.

Also being honored are Nazaida Melendez, Salem Hyde Elementary School; Kaela Newby, Van Duyn Elementary School; Jahlia Peterson, Huntington K-8 School; Ailani Pierce, Roberts Pre-K-8 School; Leah Tucker, Nottingham High School; Samantha Turnquest, Southside Academy; Michael Vu, Porter Elementary School; Andie Williams, Franklin Elementary School; Yhadia Wilson, Dr. King Elementary School; Malik Zachery, Ed Smith School; and Alysa Zinkovitch, H.W. Smith K-8 School.